Keep Calm & Check The Girls – Breast Cancer Awareness Month

On Thursday mom had a routine mammogram appointment… Even though she is currently on a chemotherapy break, tests must continue. This was the first time I stepped into the Lake Smith and Partners “Just for Women” Digital Mammography Centre… and they are such friendly souls. One would think I would have come to this realisation earlier… but it was only whilst I sat in the waiting room, that it hit me, I had come to the full blown realisation that a routine mammogram has basically saved my mother’s life. It is only because of this less than 30 minute procedure that my mom is now in the position to actively fight her cancer.

Over the last few months, whenever my mom would open up about her diagnosis to friends and family alike – she would make it a point to highlight that her tumour was discovered during a routine mammogram. She does this simply to encourage her friends and family to go get tested… she sometimes even goes as far as checking when your last mammogram was.

We so often get caught up with the hassles of everyday life that we so easily push the important things to the side…such as getting screened and tested. Cancer can be cured; the key is in early detection. It’s also important to know that men to can be diagnosed with breast cancer too. Male breast cancer is rare though, accounting for 1% of all breast cancers.

Lake-Smith-and-Partners-ad.jpg

On a side note… after nearly four months, I got to eat a meal prepared by mom. Gosh how I have missed her cooking. It is very aptly said that no one cooks like your mom does.

 

The greatest gift you can give to somebody is your own personal development.

I used to say, ‘if you will take care of me, I will take care of you.’
Now I say, ‘I will take care of me for you, if you will take care of you for me. – Jim Rohn

Leave a Reply

